Social Media Savvy Help Wanted!

The first campaign’s client meeting demonstrated a recent classroom activity’s worth to me.  The activity required each of us to determine our “social media temperature.”  Anyone who knows me would hardly be surprised that I scored a whopping 10.  According to the test, I am barely alive in the social media world.   While I have the usual Facebook and Twitter, I have no idea what half the “digital health indicators” even are.  Normally, I would have trekked on in my almost dead state; however, the first client meeting showed me that I would need to raise my “social media temperature.”

My group, 6+ Solutions, is partnered with GaitWay Therapeutic Horsemanship, a Baton Rouge area nonprofit offering Equine Assisted Activities and Therapies (EAAT) to all ages of the special needs community.  GaitWay offers excellent services to the community.  Currently, the organization is finishing preparations on a new location.  While GaitWay is small, the organization’s representatives are enthusiastic and optimistic about the future.  Shelley Rose serves as 6+ Solutions contact.

6+ Solutions will be aiding in three special events scheduled over the next few months.  Ms. Barry expressed that these special events are the primary focus of the public relations campaign, but she also expressed a desire for more social media.  According to Ms. Barry, social media will be important to help offset their nonprofit sized budget.

As the words came out of Ms. Barry’s mouth, my mind fixated on my measly 10.  She wanted barely alive me to help her?  Luckily, the other members of 6+ Solutions seem to be much more equipped to do so.  Regardless, I now realize I better get my temperature up stat!

You’re probably wondering how I’m going to raise my temperature.  Well, this blog is my first step.  Before this post, I had never blogged, thought about blogging or even really understood what I could contribute to the blog world.  I’m still working out the last one, but I managed to put together a post complete with hyperlinks and keywords.  A decent first step in my opinion, but it is only a first step.  Next I am going to respond to a LinkedIn invite.  My inbox has quite a few that I have ignored over the last couple of months.  I also plan to figure out the deal with Dropbox, Foursquare and Delicious.  Over the next semester, I hope to become alive and well in the social media world.  After all, it seems like everywhere has a need for social media savvy help.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment